Labour and birth support – 2012

If you, or someone you know, are expecting a baby between early March and October 2012, read on…

An important part of my midwifery training includes sharing the experiences of pregnancy, birth and after with women.

How does it work?

Initially, we would meet to see if you were comfortable. You can speak to my lecturer and complete the consent process, then starting in Feb next year (2012) I would attend a number of your antenatal appointments, be present at the birth, and visit you several times after that.

What do you get out of it?

I’m there to support you at whatever level you are comfortable with. That might involve being there to listen, supporting you practically during labour, supporting your supporters – whatever works for you. You would also be making a wonderful contribution to the education of future midwives.

What do I get out of it?

I get to observe and learn more about our maternity service through YOUR eyes, and learn about the ways midwives can support women. You can be working with a midwife, an obstetrician, or a hospital team – all are great learning experiences for me! I’ve always found it a huge privilege to share this time with women and their families!

More about me… 

I’m a mother and love working with pregnant women and their families. I’ve been a childbirth and breastfeeding educator for the last four years and have supported a number of women during birth and after. I’m based in north Wellington.

If you think this all sounds great…

Drop me an email (caraandluke@xtra.co.nz) and I can answer any questions you have.

Posted on November 9, 2011, in Current issues. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

